DUI Charges 101: What You Should Know
If you are stopped on suspicion of DUI, it can seem like everything is happening too fast. Even if you have been through a DUI stop before, your fear of what may happen this time can feel overwhelming.
At Turner Law, our DUI attorney works with good people who find themselves in bad situations. Many drivers are unaware of California’s laws surrounding DUI and how a conviction could change the course of their lives. Our drunk driver defense lawyer arms our clients with the information they need to make decisions surrounding their DUI charges and fights for them to achieve the best possible outcome.
California DUI Facts
The state takes an extremely tough stance toward intoxicated driving, even if it is your first or second DUI. Some of the laws governing DUI charges in California include:
- The “per se” blood alcohol concentration limit is 0.08 percent. For minors it is 0.01 percent, and in cases of aggravated DUI, the BAC limit is 0.16 percent.
- A first-time DUI conviction can result in several thousands of dollars in fines and assessments, 48 hours in jail and three months of alcohol education training.
- By the third offense, the penalties increase to 16 months in prison, an $18,000 fine and a 30-month alcohol education program.
- Your license may be suspended for six months after your first DUI conviction, although you may request an administrative hearing within 10 days of your arrest for a restricted license.
- It is possible after multiple DUI convictions to have your car confiscated or fitted with an ignition interlock device to prevent operation of the car when intoxicated.
- DUI charges are NOT eligible for diversion programs or Deferred Entry of Judgement programs, even for first-time offenses.
More DUI Questions? Bring Them To Us
If you are facing DUI charges in San Diego or anywhere in California, bring your questions to our criminal defense firm. We offer 24-hour availability, so you can begin working with us to shape your response to your arrest immediately. Call our office at 619-436-4502 or email our firm. We focus on your unique circumstances and take the time to get to know all our clients.